201 Speedway 2014 Championship Awards Banquet Set for November 22nd

Story By: Jamie Trimble (with contributions from Tony Sturgill)

The 201 Speedway 2014 Banquet is scheduled for November 22nd at the Ramada Inn in Paintsville KY at 6PM, as we officially end the 2014 season and begin the 2015 season, but before we end the 2014 season let’s take a look back at the 2014 season,.

2014 will go down as a historic season in dirt racing in Eastern KY, with not one, but two national touring series at the Sitka KY Track, with the World Of Outlaws and the Lucas Oil Touring Series both paying $10,000 to win a first for 201 Speedway, and the first ever visit to Eastern KY for both of these series.

Although the number of races was down win 2014, the action on the track was amazing and leaving many drivers and fans who had never been to the track amazed at how racy the track is, and just the entire atmosphere, and beauty of the setting around the facility.

The 2014 season saw the completion of only 12 races, with a needed break in the middle of the season for a complete resurfacing of the speedway for the safety of the drivers, and the benefit of the fans, but in those 12 events of the 2014 season the track saw some strong numbers and some unforgettable action pack racing that many of the fans will never forget, from last lap passes, to winners coming from deep in the field, to drivers picking up their first ever wins.

Here are just a few statistics from the 2014 season (Special Thanks to Tony Sturgill for supplying the stats for this review)

201 Speedway ran 12 races in the 2014 season.
In the 2014 season they were 63 different late models, 72 different open wheel modified, 39 different bombers and 18 different 4 cyl drivers registered to race in each class.

We had 2 different divers win features in 2 separate classes. Jackie Boggs In late model and open wheel modified and Jason Hall in open wheel Modified and Bomber.

Out of the 12 races in the late model division we had 10 different winners.
Points Champion Shannon Thornberry was only repeat winner with 3 feature wins.
With the winners being, Brandon Kinzer, Stephen Breeding , Tim McCreadie, Shannon Thornsberry, Victor Lee, Brandon Fouts, Jimmy Owens, Dustin Linville, Chris Combs and Jackie Boggs

Out of the 12 races the open wheels ran we had 6 different winners
With the winners being Jason Hall, Ervin Vance, Dan Ebert, Jim Barnett, Jackie Boggs and Scott Lemaster
Dan Ebert with 2 feature wins Jim Barnett 3 and Points Campion Scott Lemaster with 4 feature wins.

The Bomber had 11 races in the 2014 season with 7 different winners
With the winners being Jamie Adams, Tim Mason, Riggie Ritchie, Jason Hall, Chris Blanton, Brandon Hutchinson and Gary N. Pennington.
Jamie Adams had 2 feature win and Reggie Ritchie had 4 feature wins

The 4 cyl stock had 10 races in the 2014 season with 6 different winners.
With the winners being Michael Caudill, Mark Jude, Tyler Hayes, Tyler Hall, Chandler Belcher and Chase Hunley.
Points Champion Michael Caudill had 4 feature wins and Tyler Hayes had 2 Feature wins.

The top 10 in points in all 4 divisions that competed at 201 Speedway can be found at http://201speedway.net/points.html

Plans are already well underway for the 2015 season with the End of 2014 and the official start to the 2015 season starting on November 22nd at the 201 Speedway Banquet where the track, drivers, crews, and fans come together to celebrate and reminisce about past seasons and get information about the 2015 season.

201 Speedway has already announced the return of the Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series in 2015, and expect many other announcements as the 2015 season draws closer.

201 Speedway would like to thank all the drivers, fans, and sponsors that made the 2014 such a historic season and look forward to seeing everyone at the banquet on November 22nd or in 2015 as we continue to make the best most competitive track in Eastern KY bigger and better.